Industry News

September 15, 2017
Keeneland and Churchill Downs Inc. plan to partner on the construction of two new facilities in Kentucky near the border with Tennessee featuring short Quarter Horse and Standardbred race meets and hundreds of slot machine-like devices.
September 13, 2017
The Kentucky Horse Racing Commission has filed a notice of appeal with the Franklin Circuit Court to challenge a recent ruling involving the trainer Graham Motion that raised issues with the state's absolute-insurer rule.
September 12, 2017
Jorge Navarro, who on Sunday won his fifth consecutive Monmouth Park training title, and horse owner Randal Gindi, who races as Monster Racing Stables, has each been fined $5,000 by the Monmouth Park stewards for "conduct extremely detrimental to racing."
September 07, 2017
Because it is considered a fair meeting, Los Alamitos will have higher takeout rates at its September meet, which begins Thursday, than at its other Thoroughbred meetings this year.
The Pennsylvania Horse Racing Commission has adopted a rule that will make horses who have tested positive for illegal substances ineligible to race for as long as 90 days after the positive test has been confirmed.
September 06, 2017
Kent Stirling, a longtime executive director of the Florida Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association who played a leading role in state and national medication reform efforts, died on Wednesday at his home, according to friends. Stirling, 72, ...
September 04, 2017
One year after a summer season that was one of the most difficult in the track’s history, Del Mar bounced back this summer with a meeting that was up in handle and had a terrific safety record.
September 01, 2017
Purses for the upcoming Gulfstream Park West meet will be increased by an average of 30 percent across the board from a year ago, track officials announced on Friday.
August 31, 2017
Grade 2 winner Come On Flip was euthanized Thursday morning after battling chronic laminitis. He was 26.
The summer meet at Laurel Park showed a significant gain in handle for the third straight year, according to figures released by the Maryland Jockey Club.