03/18/2013 3:20PM

Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award 2012 semi-finalists announced


The six semi-finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award have been released.

Conceived and launched in 2006 by the late Castleton Lyons owner Dr. Tony Ryan, the award has annually showcased the best of racing literature. Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its founder, who died in 2007. Dr. Ryan’s son Shane Ryan has continued to carry on the contest each spring.

The winner of the 2012 Book Award will be announced on April 10 at Castleton Lyons during a cocktail reception held in a room above the farm’s stallion barn.  First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. In addition, all three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy.

The 2011 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award winner was Milton Toby for Dancer’s Image: The Forgotten Story, published by The History Press.

Following are the semi-finalists for the 2012 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award in alphabetical order:

Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
Author: Patrick Smithwick
Publisher: Chesapeake Publishing

Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions
Author: Susan Nusser
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

My Year of the Racehorse
Author: Kevin Chong
Publisher: Greystone Books

Racing From Death
Author: Sasscer Hill
Publisher: Wildside Press

The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey’s Journey Through Addiction and Salvation      
Author: Rudolph Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez
Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor

The Kentucky Derby: How the Run for the Roses Became America’s Premier Sporting Event
Author: James C. Nicholson
Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky

When Racing Was Racing – A Century of Horse Racing
Author: Adam Powley
Publisher: Haynes Publishing