03/26/2012 1:10PM

2012 Triple Crown: Stakes winners Flashy Dresser, Trinniberg among 20 late nominees


Flashy Dresser, the runaway winner of the Rushaway Stakes at Turfway Park last Saturday, along with Tampa Bay Derby runner-up Golden Ticket, Sunland Derby runner-up Isn’t He Clever, and Swale Stakes winner Trinniberg, on Monday were announced among the 20 late nominations to the Triple Crown, which brings the total number of Triple Crown nominations this year to 418.

The 20 late nominees are the most at that stage since 1993, when 25 were late nominees.

There were 398 3-year-olds nominated to the Triple Crown in January, at a cost of $600. The 20 late nominees announced on Monday were made eligible before midnight Saturday at a cost of $6,000.

The total of 418 Triple Crown nominees is the largest since 2008. There were 13 late nominees last year, which brought the total to 377.

Horses can still be supplemented to the Triple Crown races. For instance, it costs $200,000 to be supplemented to the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes if done so between now and May 2, entry day for the May 5 Derby. However, supplemental nominees go to the back of the line on the list of graded stakes earnings, so if more than the maximum 20 horses are entered in the Derby, any horse who was nominated at the first two stages would get into the race before a supplemental nominee, even if the supplemental nominee has more graded stakes earnings.

The late nominees also include Bourbon Courage, who has won two races at Fair Grounds this meet while earning Beyer Speed Figures of more than 100 both times; Heavy Breathing, who was third in the Vinery Racing Sprial Stakes on Saturday at Turfway Park; Jake Mo, who was fourth in the Rebel and second in the Southwest at Oaklawn in his last two starts; and the unbeaten The Lumber Guy, who won the Miracle Wood at Laurel.

The others are Brimstone Island, Capitan Futuro, Comisky’s Humor, Explain, Guyana Star Dweej, Nonios, the filly Pick and Choose, Romancing the Gold, Saturday Launch, Slamit, Z Rockstar, and Zetterholm.