01/06/2016 12:13PM

2015 Eclipse Awards Finalists


Finalists for the 2015 Eclipse Awards, selected by voters from Daily Racing Form, the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, and the National Thoroughbred Racing Association. Click on a finalist to read DRF's profile. Winners will be announced Jan. 16 at the 45th Annual Eclipse Awards dinner at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Horse of the Year

American Pharoah
California Chrome
Main Sequence

2-year-old male


2-year-old female

American Pharoah


Condo Commando
Catch a Glimpse
Lady Eli
Rachel's Valentina
Take Charge Brandi

3-year-old male


3-year-old female

American Pharaoh
California Chrome
Shared Belief
Sweet Reason
I'm a Chatterbox
Stellar Wind

Older male


Older female

Main Sequence
Honor Code
Palace Malice
Liam's Map
Wise Dan
Close HatchesBeholder DayatthespaSheer Drama Dont Tell Sophia

Male turf


Female turf

Big Blue Kitten
Main Sequence
Golden Horn
Wise Dan
The Pizza Man
Crown Queen
Stephanie's Kitten
Stephanie's Kitten

Male sprinter


Female sprinter

Points Offthebench
Private Zone
Rock Fall
Secret Circle
Artemis Agrotera
Lady Shipman
Judy The Beauty
La Verdad
Sweet Reason
Wavell Avenue

Steeplechase horse



Bob Le Beau


Bob Baffert
Bob Baffert
Todd PletcherChad Brown Bill Mott
Todd Pletcher




Juddmonte Stable
Midwest Thoroughbreds
John Oxley
Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Zayat Stables
Kenneth & Sarah Ramsey
Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Morton Fink
Zayat Stables



Apprentice Jockey

Javier Castellano
Javier Castellano

Victor Espinoza
John Velazquez
Irad Ortiz, Jr.
Angel Cruz
Eric Cancel
Drayden Van Dyke
Angel Cruz
Taylor Rice
Tyler Gaffalione
California Chrome

Horseplayer of the Year
John O'Neil

To salute horseplayers throughout North America, John O’Neil of Huntington Station, N.Y., has been recognized as winner of the $800,000 first-place prize, an Eclipse Award, and the title of 2015 Daily Racing Form/NTRA Horseplayer of the Year for capturing the 16th annual DRF/NTRA National Handicapping Championship last January at Treasure Island Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

The National Handicapping Championship is the pinnacle of all tournaments for horseplayers and the culmination of a year-long series of NTRA-sanctioned local tournaments conducted by racetracks, casino race books, offtrack betting facilities, and horse racing and handicapping websites. The NHC has enjoyed tremendous popularity over the past decade. The first NHC in 2000 had a total purse of $212,000. The total purse of this year’s NHC 17 is estimated to be $2.5 million, with $800,000 to the winner.

O’Neil, 75, is a small-business owner on Long Island. He was introduced to handicapping on visits to the old Jamaica Race Course in Queens in the 1950s.

“My brother took me one day when I was 14 or 15, and I’ve been doing it every day since,” O’Neil said. “It’s been a journey to get here, believe me. This probably makes me even after a lifetime.”

The 17th Daily Racing Form/NTRA National Handicapping Championship presented by Racetrack Television Network and Treasure Island will be held over three days at the end of this month, Thursday to Saturday, Jan. 28-30, at Treasure Island.



TEDK215 More than 1 year ago
and the winner for HOY is Beholder, NOT, theres only one, the chosen one AP!
Shawn Mark More than 1 year ago
I was surprised Curalina wasn't a finalist. 2 Grade 1 wins.
Michael Griffiths More than 1 year ago
Victor Espinoza should get the award, given the facts that he rode in more "pressure" races the Javier
steve More than 1 year ago
my co-worker's sister-in-law makes $71 every hour on the computer . She has been fired for five months but last month her income was $16368 just working on the computer for a few hours. see page.................... n­e­t­-jo­b­s2­5­.c­­o­m
Gene97588765 More than 1 year ago
Effinex should have been a finalist in the Older Male section He beat Honor Code and Tonalist in 2015, Liam's Map ducked out of the BC Classic for the easier Mile. The win in he Clark should have cinched it.. .
Shawn Mark More than 1 year ago
I agree.