Santa Anita Derby 2024

Saturday, Apr 6, 2024 Santa Anita

Santa Anita Derby Field

Keeneland Logo - designates Keeneland sale graduate
Post Horse Trainer/ Jockey ML Odds
1 Curlin's Kaos Antonio Garcia Diego Herrera 20-1
Trainer: Antonio Garcia Jockey: Diego Herrera
Owner: Zephyr Racing LLC
2 Tapalo John Sadler Umberto Rispoli 5-1
Trainer: John Sadler Jockey: Umberto Rispoli
Owner: Hronis Racing LLC
3 Stronghold Philip D'Amato Antonio Fresu 5-2
Trainer: Philip D'Amato Jockey: Antonio Fresu
Owner: Rick and Sharron Waller
4 Imagination Bob Baffert Frankie Dettori 8-5
Trainer: Bob Baffert Jockey: Frankie Dettori
Owner: SF Racing LLC, Starlight Racing and Madaket Stables LLC et al
5 Wynstock Bob Baffert Juan J. Hernandez 8-1
Trainer: Bob Baffert Jockey: Juan J. Hernandez
Owner: Allred or Liebau
6 Tessuto George Papaprodromou Kazushi Kimura 10-1
Trainer: George Papaprodromou Jockey: Kazushi Kimura
Owner: Kretz Racing LLC
7 Mc Vay John A. Shirreffs Hector I. Berrios 5-1
Trainer: John A. Shirreffs Jockey: Hector I. Berrios
Owner: C R K Stable LLC
8 E J Won the Cup Doug F. O'Neill Mike E. Smith 15-1
Trainer: Doug F. O'Neill Jockey: Mike E. Smith
Owner: Superfecta King Stable

All Santa Anita Derby News

Stronghold takes Santa Anita Derby, punches ticket to Kentucky Derby

Brad Free Apr 06,2024
ARCADIA, Calif. – The circuitous career path taken by Stronghold paid handsomely Saturday at Santa Anita, when the 3-year-old homebred won the Grade 1 Santa Anita Derby by a neck over even-money fav

New pick three to be offered for Blue Grass, Santa Anita Derby, Wood Memorial

David Grening Apr 01,2024
There will be a pick three wager offered on the major Kentucky Derby prep races being run on Saturday. Called the Big 3 Pick 3, the bet, with a base wager of $3 and a 19 percent takeout, will be of

Mc Vay will try to win Santa Anita Derby as a maiden

Steve Andersen Mar 29,2024
Trainer John Shirreffs has won the Grade 1 Santa Anita Derby three times since 2007, and has a potential for a fourth if Mc Vay scores an upset in the $750,000 race on April 6. A win by Mc Vay woul

Stronghold's strong work labels him a Santa Anita Derby threat

Brad Free Mar 27,2024
ARCADIA, Calif. – Stronghold’s impressive team work this week at Santa Anita solidified the Grade 3 Sunland Park Derby winner as a contender April 6 in the Grade 1 Santa Anita Derby. Stronghold

Stronghold goes with Santa Anita Derby over Blue Grass

Steve Andersen Mar 20,2024
Stronghold, the winner of the Grade 3 Sunland Park Derby in New Mexico in his lone start this year, is scheduled to have his Grade 1 debut in the $750,000 Santa Anita Derby on April 6. Trainer Phil

Nysos scratches from San Felipe, will await Santa Anita Derby

Brad Free Mar 02,2024
Nysos, the brilliant and undefeated 3-year-old scheduled to run Sunday in the Grade 2 San Felipe Stakes at Santa Anita, has been scratched, trainer Bob Baffert confirmed on Saturday. “I scratched

Tessuto eyes Santa Anita Derby off maiden win

Steve Andersen Feb 28,2024
ARCADIA, Calif. – Tessuto won his first start at a mile in a maiden race at Santa Anita last Sunday in a manner that left trainer George Papaprodromou considering a start in the Grade 1 Santa Anita

Santa Anita Park, located in Arcadia, Calif., first held the Santa Anita Derby in 1935, making it one of the oldest stakes races for 3-year-old Thoroughbreds in the United States. As one of the major prep races for the Kentucky Derby, the Santa Anita Derby plays a crucial role in shaping the field for the prestigious Triple Crown series.
The Santa Anita Derby has been won by some of the greatest horses in racing history, including Swaps (1955), Affirmed (1978), Sunday Silence (1989), and California Chrome (2014), all of whom went on to achieve remarkable success on the national and international stage.
Hall of Famer Gary Stevens holds the record for the most victories by a jockey in the Santa Anita Derby, with a total of nine wins throughout his illustrious career. Legendary trainer Bob Baffert has dominated the Santa Anita Derby in recent years, accumulating numerous victories with notable horses including Point Given (2001), Pioneerof the Nile (2009), and Justify (2018).

Recent Santa Anita Derby Winners

Year Horse/Trainer Horse Trainer Beyer
Philip D'Amato
Stronghold Philip D'Amato
Tim Yakteen
Practical Move Tim Yakteen 100
Tim Yakteen
Taiba Tim Yakteen 102
John Sadler
Rock Your World John Sadler 100
John Shirreffs
Honor A. P. John Shirreffs 102
Bob Baffert
Roadster Bob Baffert 98
Bob Baffert
Justify Bob Baffert 107
John Shirreffs
Gormley John Shirreffs 88
Keith Desormeaux
Exaggerator Keith Desormeaux 103
Bob Baffert
Dortmund Bob Baffert 106
Art Sherman
California Chrome Art Sherman 107
Doug O'Neill
Goldencents Doug O'Neill 105
Q: When is the 2024 Santa Anita Derby?

The 2024 Santa Anita Derby will be held on Saturday, April 6, at Santa Anita Park.


Q: How many Kentucky Derby qualifying points are offered in the Santa Anita Derby?

The winning horse receives 100 points, with the second- through fifth-place horses earning 50, 25, 15, and 10 points.


Q: Who are some of the most famous horses to win the Santa Anita Derby?

Swaps (1955), Affirmed (1978), Sunday Silence (1989), California Chrome (2014), and Justify (2018).


Q: How do you bet on the Santa Anita Derby?

DRF Bets offers daily wagering and race viewing for Santa Anita Park.