10/18/2007 11:00PM

Woods taking three shots in Longshots OTB Cup

EmailFORT ERIE, Ontario – The $25,000 Longshots OTB Cup for 2-year-old fillies heads the Sunday afternoon card at Fort Erie. The field includes two entries and three runners from the James Woods barn. The conditions for the six-furlong Longshots OTB require entrants to have made at least one prior start at Fort Erie.

The Michael Cartwright-owned and -trained coupling of Gold Abby and Jan’s Trophy should take their fair share of action, as both are winners here who have posted better Beyer Speed Figures than the rest.

Jan’s Trophy actually hit the wire in front twice against maiden company in her seven starts, but was disqualified the first time and placed second for interference. Chad Beckon retains the mount.

Gold Abby notched her first win in her most recent start in August. She will be ridden by Daniel David.

Katie’s Fuse and Igeta Kickoutaslew, with jockey Chris Griffith named on both, form an entry for trainer James Woods. Woods’s other starter is the maiden Swingin Gal.

Katie’s Fuse won her last start over $10,000 maiden claiming company. Her entrymate, Igeta Kickoutaslew, has placed twice at the Fort and recently failed to fire over the Woodbine Polytrack in a $40,000 claimer.

The Bob Tiller barn sends out the well-bred filly Vendetta, under leading rider Robbie King.

Vendetta, a daughter of Vindication out of a Forty Niner mare, romped to an easy wire-to-wire win in her latest, over a sloppy track at the Fort. She should provide formidable opposition to the Woods runners.

Rounding out the field is the maiden Flawless Case.

Fournier cruising on lead

The leading trainer at the Fort continues to be Mark Fournier, who has racked up 41 wins from 130 starts, a 31-percent win rate.

The vast majority of those wins have gone to owner Bruno Schickedanz, who retains a wide margin over all other owners in both the races-won and money-earned categories.

Nick Gonzalez is second to Fournier with 32 wins from 118 starts.

The high-percentage trainer of the year is Scott Fairlie. Fairlie has scored with 24 runners from 61 starters, a 39-percent rate.