12/13/2013 12:52PM

Voting opens for NTRA Moment of the Year


Online voting has opened for the 15th annual NTRA Moment of the Year on the website of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, www.ntra.com. Fans ages 18 and older can register online and choose from among 12 memorable moments from 2013. The winning moment will be recognized Jan. 18 during the Eclipse Awards ceremony at Gulfstream Park.

Those who vote for the eventual winner will be entered in a drawing for a $100 gift certificate for Breeders’ Cup merchandise. There is a limit of one vote per e-mail address, and voting is open through Jan. 2. The 12 moments fans can choose from are:

◗ Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens getting his first win in North America since 2005 aboard Branding at Santa Anita on Jan. 12.

◗ Spicer Cub bolting around the parked starting gate along the outside rail and still nearly winning at Pimlico on April 13, losing by a nose.

◗ Orb winning the Kentucky Derby for Hall of Fame trainer Shug McGaughey on May 4.

◗ Oxbow winning the Preakness on May 18, giving Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas his sixth win in the Triple Crown’s middle jewel and 50-year-old jockey Stevens his third.

◗ Paynter, after battling life-threatening illnesses the year before, returning to win an allowance at Betfair Hollywood Park on June 14.

◗ Hall of Fame jockey Russell Baze becoming the first North American rider to reach the 12,000-win milestone aboard Handful of Pearls at Pleasanton on July 7.

◗ Ken and Sarah Ramsey winning three Grade 1 turf stakes – the Secretariat with Admiral Kitten, the Sword Dancer with Big Blue Kitten, and the Arlington Million with Real Solution – at two different tracks in less than two hours Aug. 17.

◗ Will Take Charge rallying to beat Moreno by a nose in the Travers at Saratoga on Aug. 24.

◗ Retired jockey Ramon Dominguez receiving the Mike Venezia Award and the 2012 Eclipse Award for outstanding jockey during a ceremony at Saratoga on Aug. 25.

◗ Mizdirection beating males in the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint for the second straight year in her final start Nov. 2 at Santa Anita.

◗ Wise Dan, the 2012 Horse of the Year, winning the Breeders’ Cup Mile for the second straight year Nov. 2.

◗ Mucho Macho Man winning the Breeders’ Cup Classic by a nose over Will Take Charge on Nov. 2.

Last year’s NTRA Moment of the Year was the recovery of Haskell Invitational winner Paynter from life-threatening battles with laminitis and colitis.