04/28/2006 11:00PM

Two Manitoba awards for Gold Strike


Gold Strike, the Sovereign Award winner as Canada's champion 3-year-old filly last year, added to her laurels on Friday night, taking home two honors at the Manitoba awards banquet at Assiniboia Downs.

The Manitoba awards are a two-pronged affair, with the province's Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society recognizing province-breds and breeding accomplishments and the local Horsemen's and Benevolent Association recognizing ontrack feats in 2005.

Gold Strike, winner of the Selene Stakes and Woodbine Oaks while based in Ontario with Reade Baker, was the CTHS horse of the year and top 3-year-old filly.

Albarino, a gelding owned and bred by Ross McKague, was a triple award winner. A winner of four Assiniboia Downs stakes last year as a 4-year-old, including the Gold Breeders' Cup, Albarino was the HBPA horse of the year and was named champion older male by both the HBPA and the CTHS.

McKague also was presented with the new Jockey Club of Canada Award, honoring the top regional owner.

King of Jazz, who finished second in Woodbine's Queen's Plate, was the recipient of the CTHS 3-year-old colt or gelding award, while Prime Time T.V., the Manitoba Derby winner, took home the corresponding HPBA honor.

Kimchi, who was based at Woodbine and finished second in the Princess Elizabeth, was the CTHS champion 2-year-old filly. Hey Hey Renee was the corresponding HBPA honoree.

Other CTHS honorees included Missing Fortune, 2-year-old male; Jazzy Express, older filly or mare; Alljazz, broodmare; Buie, stallion; and Stonyfield Farm, breeder.

Other HBPA equine award winners were Barnstorm, 2-year-old male; Cindy Embers, 3-year-old filly; Ericka's Lass, older filly or mare; Iwoodificould, sprinter; and Racey Casey, claimer.

The HBPA also honored Ardell Sayler as leading trainer, Clay Brinson as top percentage trainer, and Rohan Singh as top jockey.