08/28/2008 11:00PM

Top Ohio sprinters in Honey Jay


The $50,000 Honey Jay Stakes on Sunday has brought out the best Ohio-bred sprinters in training, including last year's winner, Dooze, who was voted Ohio-bred sprint champion in 2007; the 2006 Honey Jay winner, Pforperfectspistol; Catlaunch, Ohio's champion handicap horse in 2007; and Ben's Reflection, a three-time Buckeye sprint champion (2003-05).

There will be a fierce battle for the early lead, as the top contenders, with the exception of Ben's Reflection, have won the majority of their races in front-running fashion.

Pforperfectspistol comes into the six-furlong stakes riding a three-race winning streak. He won his last two starts at Presque Isle Downs going this distance while being clocked in 1:09 each time. The first win of his streak came here in an allowance race.

Pforperfectspistol is owned by Sharen Hunter and trained by Jeff Radosevich. Mike Allen, who was aboard for his two wins at Presque Isle, will come in to ride.

Ben's Reflection, a winner of 14 of his 23 races at this distance, including multiple stakes, has won his last two starts at River Downs, both at five furlongs. His latest win came on the turf in August, and the other was June 28 on the main track when that race was taken off the grass. On May 3, he was a fast-closing third, beaten 1 1/2 lengths behind Dooze and Catlaunch, who dead-heated for the win. He should benefit from the quick early pace that is expected to develop. Dean Sarvis will ride for trainer Kathleen Lowry.

Dooze weakened to third behind Ben's Reflection in the five-furlong dash at River Downs on June 28 in his most recent start. Before that he rallied to beat Ben's Reflection in the six-furlong Babst Memorial at Beulah Park. He has the tactical speed to be well-placed early. He is trained by Michael Maker and will be ridden by Luis Martinez Jr.