08/21/2013 4:02PM

TOBA to host annual awards dinner Sept. 6


Godolphin, John and Debby Oxley, Brereton Jones, and Reddam Racing LLC will be among those honored when the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (TOBA) hosts its annual National Awards Dinner Friday, Sept. 6, at the Fasig-Tipton facility in Lexington, Ky.

Among the awards presented will be the National Owner of the Year Award, to be selected from one of the four previously-named standout regional owners. Godolphin, named the Eastern Region Owner of the Year, campaigned Grade 1 winners Questing, Emcee, Better Lucky, and Alpha in 2012; Darley, the breeding arm of the operation, earned the Eclipse Award as outstanding breeder. Reddam Racing (Western Region) campaigned 2012 dual classic winner and champion I'll Have Another, while Jones (Southern Region) bred and raced Kentucky Oaks winner Believe You Can. The Oxleys (Midwestern Region) campaigned graded stakes winners Prospective and Stealcase.

Additionally, TOBA will honor a National Breeder and National Small Breeder of the Year. The winners will be selected from a list of previously-announced state and Canadian breeders of the year. Those honorees are Triple AAA Ranch (Arizona), Terry C. Lovingier (California), William D. Graham (Canada), Ocala Stud (Florida), Team Block (Illinois), Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer (Indiana), Allen Poindexter (Iowa), Morton Fink (Kentucky), Coteau Grove Farms (Louisiana), Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Bowman (Maryland), Patricia Moseley (Massachusetts), Campbell Stable (Michigan), Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick (Minnesota), Gunsmith Stables (New Jersey), Triple AAA Ranch (New Mexico), Barry K. Schwartz (New York), Nancy C. Shuford (North Carolina), Leon and Karen Glasser (North Dakota), Jack and Margaret Root (Oregon), Franklin G. Smith (South Carolina), Audley Farm Equine (Virginia), and Karl Krieg (Washington).
TOBA will also honor Gary Biszantz with the Industry Service Award. Owner of Cobra Farm, Biszantz served for four years as TOBA chairman and for six years on the American Graded Stakes Committee. In 1999, Biszantz was elected into membership of The Jockey Club, formerly served on the board of directors of Breeders’ Cup Limited and was a past director of the Thoroughbred Owners of California (TOC). He is also devoted to Thoroughbred aftercare, serving on the board of Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) for several years. Biszantz is a past recipient of the TCA Industry Service Award and owns Tranquility Farm, a Thoroughbred rescue, rehabilitation and retraining facility in California.

Additionally, TOBA will honor Lisa Danielle, dam of reigning Horse of the Year Wise Dan, as the National Broodmare of the Year. This award offers catalog designation from the North American International Cataloguing Standards Committee. Lisa Danielle, the reigning Kentucky Broodmare of the Year, is owned by Morton Fink, who bred and races Wise Dan, along with her multiple graded stakes-winning son Successful Dan.

Show jumper Thomas Edison, owned by Alex Jayne, will be named the Rood and Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year. This award is presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has excelled in sport horse competitions as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.                  

Tickets for the National Awards Dinner may be purchased at www.toba.org.