12/14/2009 12:00AM

Teide takes top British Columbia honor


VANCOUVER, British Columbia - Teide was named the Horse of the Year in British Columbia at the annual industry awards dinner Saturday evening.

Trained by Dino Condilenios, Teide also took top honors as the top older horse in the province. A 5-year-old Kentucky-bred gelding by Mt. Livermore, Teide won three stakes at Hastings, including the $101,000 Lieutenant Governors. He is owned by Swift Thoroughbreds Inc. Teide was part of a package of horses Swift bought from Darley Stable last year.

Huitzilopochtli was named the B.C.-bred Horse of the Year. Owned and trained by Juan Olmos, Huitzilopochtli dominated the local 2-year-olds at Hastings, winning 4 of 5 stakes races.

Holy Nova took home the trophy in the older filly and mare division. Trained by Troy Taylor, Holy Nova won three stakes races at Hastings, including the Grade 3 Ballerina. Holy Nova is owned by Glen Todd and Patrick Kinsella.

Wind Storm was named the top B.C.-bred in the older filly and mare division. She is trained by Dave Forster and owned by her breeder, George Gilbert.

Tommy Danzigger, winner of the Grade 3 Canadian Derby, was named the top 3-year-old in both the open and B.C-bred categories. He is trained by Rob Gilker and owned by Ted Smith.

Other winners were: Trick of the North, older B.C.-bred; La Rocca, 3-year-old filly; Tierra Del Feugo, B.C.-bred 3-year-old filly; Vying Ty Grr, 2-year-old filly, both division; Sprinter - Bank Emblem.

Frank Barroby was inducted into the B.C. Horse Racing Hall of Fame. Barroby is the only person to be both a leading jockey and trainer at Hastings.

Trainer Barbara Heads won the Diamond Award of Excellence. Trainer Mel Snow was given a special award for years of service and dedication to the industry.