07/04/2002 12:00AM

Suntana logical choice in Graduation


WINNIPEG, Manitoba - After winning the Frank Arnason Sire Stakes with Bo Dippity, the combo of trainer Blair Miller and jockey Anderson Ward will be looking for their second victory in a 2-year-old stakes here this year with Suntana in Saturday's $30,000, 5 1/2-furlong Graduation at Assiniboia Downs.

In his only start, Suntana defeated Sand Rush and Mr Don, whom he will face again here. Suntana will break from post 3 in the field of seven.

Suntana's sternest opposition will come from Alberta, in the form of Tychonic Lady and New Media.

In her only start, in a maiden race at Stampede Park on May 26, Tychonic Lady opened up a six-length lead through an opening quarter in 22 seconds. She continued on to finish the 3 1/2- furlong sprint in 39.20 while 4 1/4 lengths in front of her closest rival.

Trained by Greg Tracy, Tychonic Lady will be the one to catch as she breaks from the rail under Robert Skelly.

New Media, also a winner in his only start at Stampede on May 22, did so over a muddy track after dueling every step of the way.

Trained by Dale Saunders, New Media finished his 3 1/2 furlong race in 40 and will break from post 4 under Rohan Singh.

After breaking poorly in his only start, which came in the Arnason, Pippy Dance continued on a troubled journey before finishing third, 1 3/4 lengths behind Bo Dippity.

Pippy Dance, who breaks from post 7, will start for trainer Wendy Anderson after debuting for trainer Raymond Liu. Jockey Juan Crawford retains the mount.

Owner Phil Kives will be looking for his third consecutive Graduation victory with Sand Rush, having won the last two editions with Corporate Shuffle and Ness Gadoll.

Second behind Suntana in his only start, Sand Rush breaks from post 5 under Manuel Alicea.

Mr Don, third behind Suntana and Sand Rush that day, will start form post 6 with Jacques DesAutels aboard.

Rounding out the field will be first-time starter Wild Ruler, trained by Guy Kling.

for entries.

Subscribers: to purchase Past Performances.

Non-subscribers: Click here to purchase Past Performances.