05/29/2002 12:00AM

Some pressure here for Holly Hollywood


WINNIPEG, Manitoba - Holly Hollywood will face her toughest assignment of the year when she tries for her third consecutive victory in Friday's feature at Assiniboia, an allowance/ optional claiming race for fillies and mares at 5 1/2 furlongs.

Trained by Wendy Anderson, Holly Hollywood has displayed her usual speed in winning her first two starts of 2002, both at five furlongs.

In her most recent outing, on May 18, Holly Hollywood held on to a clear early lead through the stretch. Its unlikely, however, that she will be able to secure a clear lead Friday.

Cathy's Star and Texas Heat should provide the stiffest competition for Holly Hollywood.

Last time out, in her local debut, Cathy's Star finished second behind Miss Sandy Dee in the Victoria Day Stakes after a troubled trip.

Texas Heat, who was scratched from the Victoria Day, won her last start, on March 9 at Sam Houston, in an allowance race at Friday's distance.

Step's Mischief, What Four, and Farrmost finished second, third, and fourth, behind Holly Hollywood on May 18. All will be making their second starts of the year.

Rounding out the field will be Sands Fury, who won a race at Fort Pierre, an unrecognized track in South Dakota, in her only start of the year.

Halter is Kalfaari's second stakes win

Last Sunday, Kalfaari defeated Alberta invaders Timely Ruckus and Robnroy to win the G. Sydney Halter Stakes.

Corporate Shuffle finished fourth, followed by Smoky Cinder and Breaker Breaker. Ness Gadoll was scratched.

The win, Kalfaari's second in a stakes, increased his lifetime earnings to $80,160 and improved his career mark to eight wins from 13 starts.

Trained by Clint Willson and ridden by Rohan Singh, Kalfaari returned $5.10 to win. The exactor with Timely Ruckus paid $10.

* Jacques DesAutels won three races last Sunday and a total of five over the weekend to move into first in the local rider standings with 18 victories. Singh is second with 16.

* Trainers Tom Dodds, Rita McDonald, Sonny Johnson, and Clay Brinson won two races each last weekend. Ardell Sayler tops all local trainers with seven wins.