12/06/2004 12:00AM

Smarty Jones on 'Moment' ballot


Smarty Jones features in three of the 10 events selected by the National Thoroughbred Racing for its sixth annual "Moment of the Year" voting.

Victories by Smarty Jones in the Kentucky Derby and Preakness are on the ballot, as is his loss to Birdstone in the Belmont, ending a Triple Crown bid.

Azeri's race debut for a new trainer - her Apple Blossom Handicap victory for D. Wayne Lukas - is also among the finalists, as is the victory, by disqualification, of Kicken Kris in the Arlington Million, Kitten's Joy's score in the Man o' War, and Funny Cide's winning Jockey Club Gold Cup performance.

Three winners from Breeders' Cup Day are represented: Sweet Catomine in the Juvenile Fillies, Singletary (and his jubilant owners) in the Mile, and Ghostzapper in the Classic.

Voting takes place at www.ntra.com.