03/18/2002 1:00AM

Set your alarm to play these races


DUBAI, United Arab Emirates - There is no wagering in Dubai, but bettors in the United States will have sufficient opportunity to bet on the $6 million Dubai World Cup and three other World Cup races Saturday from Dubai. Officials from Arlington International are coordinating simulcast and wagering for the last four races on the World Cup program. Each race will include an exacta, trifecta, and superfecta.

According to Arlington spokesman Dan Leary, all four races will be offered to wagering venues around the country. Leary expects more than 400 sites to take wagering on the Dubai races, adding that advance wagering will be available the day before. It will be up to individual outlets to decide which races to take, and whether or not to offer advance wagering.

Races that will be offered are the $2 million Dubai Sheema Classic, at 1 1/2 miles on turf; the $2 million Golden Shaheen at six furlongs; the $2 million Dubai Duty Free at "about" 1 1/8 miles on turf; and the $6 million Dubai World Cup. Dubai time is 12 hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time, and nine hours ahead of Eastern Time. Therefore, Saturday night in Dubai is Saturday morning in the U.S.

There will be no betting offered on three earlier races on the card: a race for Arabians, the Godolphin Mile, and the UAE Derby. Post time for the Sheema Classic is 7 p.m. in Dubai (7 a.m. Pacific, 10 a.m. Eastern). The Golden Shaheen is 8:10 in Dubai (8:10 a.m. Pacific, 11:10 a.m. Eastern). The Dubai Duty Free is 8:50 p.m. in Dubai (8:50 a.m. Pacific, 11:50 a.m. Eastern). The World Cup goes at 9:40 p.m. in Dubai (9:40 a.m. Pacific, 12:40 p.m. Eastern).

It will be up to individual sites to choose which races to offer for betting. In addition to standard wagers, Leary said, a pick three on the last three races, and a daily double on the last two, will be offered.

Agnes Digital trim to meet Sakhee

Dubai World Cup contender Agnes Digital will have his final workout Wednesday at 4 a.m., according to trainer Toshiaki Shirai. Speaking through an interpreter, and partly in English, Shirai explained that although Agnes Digital lost some weight since arriving last Thursday, he has the ability to compensate.

"He's very quiet, he goes in slow motion, but he has a good heart, good spirit," Shirai said.

The trainer, among the top five in Japan last season with three Group 1 wins among a total of 38 wins, said that Agnes Digital lost about 10 kilos (22 pounds) since arriving. He said Agnes Digital, a 5-year-old son of Crafty Prospector, typically weighs 446 kilos. Subtract the 10 kilos, and Agnes Digital weighs in at 959 pounds. Shirai was asked how he plans to defeat likely favorite Sakhee. Laughing, he said: "It's a secret, I'll explain after the race."

Still no excuse for Tempera

Four days after her stunning defeat in the UAE 1000 Guineas, Tempera remains without an excuse. Winner of the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies and the U.S. champion filly of 2001, Tempera finished five lengths behind Infinite Spirit in a comeback race that Tempera was expected to dominate.

"No excuses, I'm afraid," Godolphin racing manager Simon Crisford said Monday. "We'll see how she does the middle of next month."

Tempera's next start will be in Dubai. Crisford did not reveal when or where Infinite Spirit would start next.

Among the colts, Crisford said Essence of Dubai remains the most well-regarded of the Godolphin runners, heading into the UAE Derby on Saturday. The race has been lengthened to a 1 1/4 miles this year for the first time. "What it comes down to is who can stay," Crisford said. "We've got some class, obviously. You've to to have the stamina to match the class."

Men's Exclusive on his toes

A half-mile workout Monday by the 9-year-old California-bred Men's Exclusive has him on his toes for the $2 million Golden Shaheen. Men's Exclusive was timed in 46.20 seconds under Kenny Black. Last year, Men's Exclusive finished second behind Caller One in this race, but he had an excuse.

"He bled out of both nostrils, he just gushed," trainer Wesley Ward explained last week.

Men's Exclusive cannot race with Lasix in Dubai, so Ward has been experimenting with different vitamins to prevent the bleeding. "He's worked three of four times without Lasix and he hasn't bled," he said.

Total Impact has edge in 'Derby'

Off his impressive runner-up finish in a Santa Anita allowance on Feb. 24, the 4-year-old Total Impact should fit nicely in a race restricted to 3-year-olds. In the $2 million UAE Derby, Total Impact will get the chance to prove he does fit. Because he was foaled in the Southern Hemisphere, in Chile, Total Impact qualifies as a 3-year-old in the Northern Hemisphere, and is therefore eligible for the Derby. Total Impact won both starts in Chile, including a Group 1 by more than 11 lengths, before he was shipped to California.

In his only start in the U.S. for trainer Laura De Seroux, Total Impact broke poorly, made a strong move into a hot pace, and could not quite wear down race-favorite Brainy, while earning a 102 Beyer Speed Figure.