Updated on 09/17/2011 9:40PM

Sea Dub pays $109 in Dallas Turf Cup

Lone Star Park
53-1 longshot Sea Dub (outside) pulls an upset to win the Dallas Turf Cup at Lone Star Park on Saturday.

GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Sea Dub pulled off the biggest stakes upset in Lone Star Park history on Saturday, when he won a photo over Fullbridled to capture the $200,000 Dallas Turf Cup at 53-1.

I Are Sharp had held the record for a stakes payoff at the track since April 17, 1997, when he won the first-ever race at Lone Star, the Premiere Stakes, and paid $101.

Sea Dub paid $109.40 for his head win in the Dallas Turf Cup. Larry Taylor rode the winner for trainer Joe Petalino.

"He's been knocking on the door, he really has," said Petalino. "He just was doing exceptionally good, so I'm not as surprised to see him win as the public was."

Sea Dub had finished third in his two starts leading up to the Dallas Turf Cup, one an allowance, and the other an overnight turf stakes, both at Lone Star. Saturday, he settled in the second flight of horses in the mile and an eighth race, as Fullbridled, who was favored, raced clear through fractions of 24.22 seconds for the opening quarter, 48.05 seconds for the half-mile mark, and 1:11.74 for six furlongs. Sea Dub advanced around the final turn, angled out in the stretch, took off after Fullbridled, and outgamed him on the wire to cover the distance over firm turf in 1:48.82.

"Larry did a real good job," said Petalino. "He rode him to perfection."

Sea Dub earned $120,000 for his win in the Dallas Turf Cup, which was his third career stakes win and sixth victory overall from 46 starts. His earnings now stand at $358,183. Sea Dub is a 6-year-old gelding by Sea Hero, and his dam, Safe Salute, is a half-sister to Safely Kept, champion sprinter in 1989. Sea Dub races for his breeder, Doyle Williams.

Fullbridled finished two and a quarter lengths clear of third-place finisher Major Rhythm. It was another half-length back in fourth to Waupaca.

The Dallas Turf Cup is the richest grass meet of the race at Lone Star.