05/31/2003 12:00AM

Santos tops All-Star invite


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Jose Santos, regular rider on Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner Funny Cide, is one of 10 riders invited to compete in the seventh annual National Thoroughbred Racing Association All-Star Jockey Championship. The four-race competition will be held June 20 at Lone Star Park.

Pat Valenzuela and Ryan Fogelsonger were extended invitations for the first time. The rest of the riders asked to compete by a seven-member selection panel were Robby Albarado, Russell Baze, Edgar Prado, Shane Sellers, Mike Smith, Alex Solis, and John Velazquez.

The field for the event will also include two riders yet to be determined. The winner of an online poll being conducted at www.ntra.com through June 7 will get an invitation. The leading rider at Lone Star as of the last race June 1 also will earn a berth in the competition. Eddie Martin Jr. and Corey Lanerie were tied for the lead at the close of racing here Friday.

The choices on the online poll are Javier Castellano, Jorge Chavez, Eibar Coa, Kent Desormeaux, Ramon Dominguez, Rene Douglas, Victor Espinoza, David Flores, Rosemary Homeister Jr., Richard Migliore, Corey Nakatani, and Cornelio Velazquez.

Laffit Pincay, Jr., the all-time winningest jockey who retired last month, will be the guest of honor during the competition

The Jockey Championship serves as a fund-raiser for the Disabled Jockey's Endowment.