11/02/2016 2:55PM

Sahara Sky, Turbo Compressor to stand in Indiana

Tom Keyser
Sahara Sky became a Grade 1 winner when he captured the 2013 Metropolitan Handicap at Belmont Park.

Indiana’s fast-growing stallion roster added a pair of Grade 1 winners for the 2017 breeding season, with Sahara Sky retiring to R Star Stallions in Anderson, and Turbo Compressor relocating to Breakaway Farm in Dillsboro.

Sahara Sky, an 8-year-old son of Pleasant Tap, will stand for a fee of $4,000 in his debut season. He retires with eight wins in 27 starts for earnings of $1,181,583, running the majority of his career for the partnership of trainer Jerry Hollendorfer and Sweetwater Stable.

His marquee win came in the Grade 1 Metropolitan Handicap in 2013, with additional victories in the Grade 2 Palos Verdes Stakes and two editions of the Grade 2 San Carlos Stakes. He was also runner-up in the Grade 1 Carter Handicap in both 2013 and 2014.

Bred in Florida by Martin Stables, Sahara Sky is out of the Grade 3-winning Storm Cat mare Seeking the Sky, whose five winners from as many runners includes stakes winner Animal Style. His extended family features champion Nyquist and Grade 2 winner Seeking Regina.

Turbo Compressor will stand at Breakaway Farm for a private fee. The 8-year-old Halo’s Image ridgling previously stood at Northwest Stud in Ocala, Fla., where he was advertised for a fee of $3,500 in 2016. His first foals are weanlings of 2016.

Turbo Compressor won seven of 17 starts during his on-track career for $953,960, highlighted by a victory in the Grade 1 United Nations Stakes in 2012. He also scored listed wins in the Colonial Cup Turf, Curlin Stakes, and Carl G. Rose Classic Handicap.

Bred in Florida by Bridlewood Farm, Turbo Compressor is out of the unraced Wild Event mare Dixieland Event, whose eight foals to race are all winners, including stakes winner Stormy Dixie and stakes-placed Gelfenstein. He is from the family of multiple Grade 1 winner Southern Image, Japanese Group 3 winner Black Bar Spin, and Korean Group 3 winners Beolmaui Kkum and Kkakjaengi.