04/26/2014 10:46AM

Repeat winners rule at Minnesota Thoroughbred awards


SHAKOPEE, Minn. – For the second consecutive year, Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick captured the breeder awards at the Minnesota Thoroughbred Association’s annual awards dinner.  The dinner was hosted Friday night to honor the champions of 2013.

Bremer and Sprick won the Thoroughbred Owner and Breeders Association and Charles Bellingham awards for the second time, while their 3-year old filly, Badge of Glory, was also a repeat winner, named champion 3-year old filly after taking home the 2-year old filly award last year.

Another multiple winner on the evening was owner-breeder Henry Hanson.  Hanson had the year’s top 2-year old filly in She Can Ski and the year’s top stallion, Appealing Skier.  Appealing Skier sired three of the champions honored this year: She Can Ski, Heliskier, and Appeal to the King.

Heliskier won the award for top older male, making it three years in a row that he has won a divisional crown, claiming honors at 2 and 3 for owner Marlene Colvin.

Appeal to the King, bred by We Three Kings LLC and owned by Wayne Simon, took top 3-year old male honors on the strength of his Minnesota Derby victory.

Three-year-old gelding Bing’s Magic captured the 3-year old male award, while the older female award went to Malkerson Thoroughbreds homebred and Distaff Sprint champion Somerset Swinger.

The top broodmare of 2013 was Renaissance Stables’ Obsessed.  Her top offspring in 2013 was Princess Elaine Stakes winner It’s Tamareno.

Barry and Joni Butzow’s Bryan’s Jewel was named top Minnesota-owned horse. Bryan’s Jewel took the Grade 3 Obeah Stakes, as well as the John W. Rooney Memorial Stakes at Delaware Park, and placed second in Canterbury Park’s signature female race, the $100,000 Lady Canterbury Stakes.

While there are a few barns still experiencing frozen pipes due to the unusually harsh weather this winter, the track is scheduled to open for training April 28 with racing commencing the evening of May 16. Post time will be 6:30 p.m. Friday and 12:45 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Thursday evening racing begins June 5, and in August, Canterbury will introduce Saturday night racing with a 6:30 p.m. post time.