09/07/2013 11:26AM

Reddam Racing, Ocala Stud, Fink earn national honors at TOBA ceremony


Reddam Racing LLC, Ocala Stud, and Morton Fink earned top honors as the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (TOBA) held its annual National Awards Dinner Friday, Sept. 6, at the Fasig-Tipton facility in Lexington, Ky.

J. Paul and Zillah Reddam's Reddam Racing earned the National Owner of the Year award; J. Michael O'Farrell's Ocala Stud was named National Breeder of the Year; and Fink, who campaigns reigning Horse of the Year Wise Dan, was honored as National Small Breeder of the Year.

Reddam Racing campaigned dual classic winner and champion I'll Have Another, who won all four of his starts in 2012 before an injury forced his retirement the day before the Belmont Stakes. The operation also raced Grade 2 winners Handsome Mike, Know More, and Quiet Oasis last season; the latter two were both Grade 1-placed.

Reddam Racing was previously named the Western Region's outstanding owner, and was selected as the national honoree over three other regional standouts. The other regional winners were Godolphin (Eastern Region), Brereton C. Jones (Southern Region) and John and Debby Oxley (Midwestern Region)

Ocala Stud, which was also honored as Florida's outstanding breeder, was represented on the track in 2012 by Grade 1-winning sprint females Musical Romance and Turbulent Descent; the former was the divisional champion the prior year. The operation also bred Grade 2 winner Unlimited Budget.

Wise Dan, owned and bred by Fink, won all but one of his starts in 2012, capping three straight Grade 1 scores with a record-setting performance in the Breeders' Cup Mile to earn honors as Horse of the Year, champion older male, and champion turf male. Fink, Kentucky's breeder of the year, was also represented on the track last year by Grade 2 winner Successful Dan.

Both geldings are out of the winning Wolf Power mare Lisa Danielle, who TOBA honored as National Broodmare of the Year. The award offers catalog designation from the North American International Cataloguing Standards Committee. Lisa Danielle, the reigning Kentucky Broodmare of the Year, was purchased for $29,000 by Fink as a yearling in 1995. The only broodmare Fink owns, she has also produced stakes winner Our Royal Dancer and five other winners.

The other state breeders of the year honorees were Triple AAA Ranch (Arizona), Terry C. Lovingier (California), Team Block (Illinois), Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer (Indiana), Allen Poindexter (Iowa), Coteau Grove Farms (Louisiana), Dr. and Mrs. Thomas Bowman (Maryland), Patricia Moseley (Massachusetts), Campbell Stable (Michigan), Richard Bremer and Cheryl Sprick (Minnesota), Gunsmith Stables (New Jersey), Triple AAA Ranch (New Mexico), Barry K. Schwartz (New York), Nancy C. Shuford (North Carolina), Leon and Karen Glasser (North Dakota), Jack and Margaret Root (Oregon), Franklin G. Smith (South Carolina), Audley Farm Equine (Virginia), and Karl Krieg (Washington). The Canadian Breeder of the Year was William D. Graham.

At the awards dinner, which was hosted by former jockey and television analyst Donna Barton Brothers, TOBA honored Gary Biszantz with the Industry Service Award. Owner of Cobra Farm, Biszantz served for four years as TOBA chairman and for six years on the American Graded Stakes Committee. In 1999, Biszantz was elected into membership of The Jockey Club, formerly served on the board of directors of Breeders’ Cup Limited and was a past director of the Thoroughbred Owners of California (TOC). He is also devoted to Thoroughbred aftercare, serving on the board of Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) for several years. Biszantz is a past recipient of the TCA Industry Service Award and owns Tranquility Farm, a Thoroughbred rescue, rehabilitation and retraining facility in California.

Show jumper Thomas Edison, owned by Ira Schulman and Alex Jayne, was honored as the Rood and Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year. This award is presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred racehorse that has excelled in sport horse competitions as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.