04/24/2013 12:27PM

Racing’s Hall of Fame inductees to be named Friday


The Hall of Fame class of 2013 will be announced Friday, with five jockeys - including three-time Kentucky Derby winner Calvin Borel - one trainer, and four horses vying for the four coveted spots.

In addition to Borel, Derby-winning jockeys Chris Antley and Craig Perret are among the finalists, along with jockeys Garrett Gomez and Alex Solis, retired trainer Gary Jones, and the horses Ashado, Housebuster, Invasor, and Lure.

Under the Hall of Fame’s current rules, the four of those 10 who received the most votes from the Hall of Fame’s 182 voters will be announced as this year’s inductees. Those 10 finalists received the most votes from 86 names submitted to the Hall of Fame’s 16-member nominating committee.

There is no quota on the number of horses, jockeys, or trainers who can make the ballot, nor is there a quota on the four inductees. In theory, four jockeys - or all four horses - could be the four inductees.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremonies are scheduled for Aug. 9 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., where the Hall of Fame is located.

D'Funnybone More than 1 year ago
Nailed it!!
Stephen Stankiewicz More than 1 year ago
No mention of Larry Snyder. When Larry retired from horseracing in 1994 he was only the 6th rider to reach 6,000 wins. Think about that for a moment. This George Woolf Memorial Jockey winner from 1989 has been forgotten about again! What in the hell are the experts waiting for! This is a disgrace period! Keep waiting and someday it will be too late for him to celebrate this award with his family and friends and fans! Good job to you all that voted!
D'Funnybone More than 1 year ago
Borel is a lock with his 3 Derby wins, followed by Invasor, 2 time BC mile winner Lure, and Housebuster, who was a tremendous sprinter in his time. Ashado also deserves consideration, maybe in 2014.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chris Antley, Craig Perret, Lure and Calving Borel would get my vote....if I had one....
Justin Mato More than 1 year ago
Invasor is one of the most underrated horses of all time. never ran a bad race. always found a way to win/ Watch his donn handicap score sometime. classic horse who only had one career lose to Discreet Cat, a monster in his own right
chad mc rory More than 1 year ago
And once again, no mention of Billy Turner... Indefensible.
nadjasrce More than 1 year ago
why, after ss he never got his barn going