04/20/2017 1:19PM

Privman honored for outstanding Thoroughbred coverage

Michael Amoruso
Jay Privman, who joined Daily Racing Form in 1998, covers the southern California circuit and national events.

Daily Racing Form's Jay Privman has been honored with the Charles W. Engelhard Award for outstanding coverage of the Thoroughbred industry.

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Association (KTA) and Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders (KTOB) feted Privman and its champions, including Arrogate, Beholder, Songbird, and Tepin, at an annual awards luncheon Thursday in Lexington, Ky.

The Engelhard Award, first presented in 1970, is voted upon by the KTA/KTOB board of directors. Privman, who joined Daily Racing Form in 1998, covers the southern California circuit and national events such as the Triple Crown and Breeders' Cup.

Privman's career writing honors include a sweep of awards for coverage of the three Triple Crown events: he is a multiple winner of the Red Smith Award for best Kentucky Derby story; a multiple winner of the David F. Woods Award for Preakness Stakes coverage; and also won the Joe Hirsch Memorial Writing Award for Belmont Stakes coverage.

Privman, also an award-winning writer for his Breeders' Cup coverage, is the author of "Breeders' Cup: Thoroughbred Racing's Championship Day" and a contributor to "Champions."

Arrogate was honored as the Kentucky-bred Horse of the Year and outstanding 3-year-old male of 2016 in divisional awards voted on by the KTA/KTOB membership. The colt won last year's Travers Stakes in record-setting fashion, then defeated California Chrome in the Breeders' Cup Classic to secure a 2016 Eclipse Award title.

Early this season, Arrogate won the $12 million Pegasus World Cup and $10 million Dubai World Cup to become North America's richest racehorse. The colt’s breeder, Clearsky Farm, was presented with the P.A.B. Widener Award for outstanding breeder.

Four-time Eclipse Award winner Beholder earned another Kentucky-bred championship as outstanding older female, while her dam, Leslie's Lady, was honored with the prestigious Broodmare of the Year award.

Two-time Eclipse Award champions Tepin (champion turf female, outstanding Kentucky-bred racing abroad) and Songbird (champion 3-year-old filly) were also among the honorees Thursday.

A complete listing of the Kentucky-bred champions and other honors for 2016:
Broodmare of the Year: Leslie's Lady
Horse of the Year: Arrogate
2-year-old male: Classic Empire
2-year-old filly: Champagne Room
3-year-old male: Arrogate
3-year-old filly: Songbird
Older male: Frosted
Older female: Beholder
Turf male: Tourist
Turf female: Tepin
Sprinter: Drefong
Kentucky-bred racing abroad: Tepin
Steeplechase horse: Special Skills

Merit awards

P.A.B. Widener Award: Clearsky Farm
Hardboot Breeders' Award: Brereton Jones
William T. Young Humanitarian Award: Godolphin Flying Start & KEMI
Charles W. Englehard Award: Jay Privman

Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund leaders

Owner and breeder of the year: Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Sire of the year: Kitten's Joy
Earner of the year: Kitten's Roar
Trainer of the year: Mike Maker