05/18/2017 8:26AM

Preakness has become maker of champions


BALTIMORE – The road to a divisional Eclipse Award has run through the Preakness in 15 of the last 20 years.

Since Silver Charm won in 1997, all but five Preakness winners have been voted the top 3-year-old male of the year. The exceptions were Tiznow (2000), Summer Bird (2009), Animal Kingdom (2011), Will Take Charge (2013), and Arrogate (2016).

During the same 20-year period, the Eclipse has been voted to 11 winners of the Derby and four of the Belmont.

:: Like this article? Get access to all premium articles, real-time coverage, special reports, and charts. Unlock access with DRF Plus.

◗ Pimlico is offering a $2 million pool guarantee on the pick four (races 10-13) that ends with the Preakness. In addition, there’s a $1 million pool guarantee on the pick five (races 9-13) ending with the Preakness and a $500,000 guarantee on an earlier pick four (races 6-9).

:: DRF Bets will refund your money! Get a $20 refund if your horse finishes 2nd to Always Dreaming in the Preakness. Opt-In Now