04/09/2009 11:00PM

Pimlico cards jockey contest


Eight prominent riders, including four Eclipse Award winners, will compete in the inaugural Jockey Challenge at Pimlico on May 15, the day before the Preakness Stakes.

The lineup is topped by two-time reigning Eclipse Award winner Garrett Gomez and Eclipse winners Kent Desormeaux, Edgar Prado, and John Velazquez.

In addition to Prado and Desormeaux, the roster includes two other riders with roots in Maryland racing - Mario Pino and Ramon Dominguez - plus young stars Rafael Bejarano and Julien Leparoux.

The jockey with the most points at the end of a four-race competition will earn $14,000.

The Maryland Jockey Club teamed up with the Jockeys' Guild for the event and will make a $5,000 contribution to the Permanently Disabled Jockeys Fund.