08/12/2009 12:00AM

Oklahoma awards dinner on Saturday


Kip Deville, who won last year's Grade 1 Maker's Mark Mile and was the runner-up in the Breeders' Cup Mile, is a finalist for 2008 horse of the year honors from the Oklahoma Thoroughbred Association. The organization will honor its Oklahoma-bred or Oklahoma-foaled 2008 divisional champions during a gala Saturday night at Remington Park.

"It's been our tradition we don't announce our winners until the banquet," said R.D. Logan, executive director of the OTA.

Other finalists for horse of the year are stakes winners Marq French, Reel Chrome, and Strategic Leader. Also during the banquet, the Oklahoma Racing Commission will present its Oklahoma-bred champions for 2008.

Chris Lincoln, a longtime sportscaster and racing commentator, will be the master of ceremonies Saturday.