06/13/2016 12:36PM

Nyquist holds slim lead in sophomore standings


The three Triple Crown races were won by three different horses, each of whom won another major Grade 1 race earlier in the year. Their similar résumés through the first six months of the year mean that Creator, Exaggerator, and Nyquist all seemingly will go into the second half of the year with an equal chance to wrest the title as champion 3-year-old male, unlike last year, when that title and Horse of the Year were signed, sealed, and delivered as soon as American Pharoah swept the Triple Crown.