08/12/2008 11:00PM

N.Y. writers to honor Curlin and IEAH


Stonestreet Stables' Curlin and the IEAH Stables will be among the honorees at the 85th New York Turf Writers Association awards dinner, which will be held Monday, Aug. 18, at the Saratoga National Golf Club.

Curlin is the winner of the Secretariat Award as New York's 2007 Horse of the Year, while IEAH Stables will receive the Alfred G. Vanderbilt Award as the persons who did the most for racing in 2007.

Others being honored include Rags to Riches, C.V. Whitney Achievement Award; John and Brad Hennegan, Presidents' Award; Larry Jones, Red Smith "Good Guy" Award; Bill Mott, Fourstardave Award; Albert Fried Jr., Big Apple Award; Kiaran McLaughlin, Woody Stephens Award; Cornelio Velasquez, Eddie Arcaro Award; Zayat Stables, Paul Mellon Award; and Adena Springs Farms, Ogden Phipps Award.

Tickets can be reserved by calling Marea Chaveco at 718-659-2336.