01/03/2018 11:29AM

NTRA opens voting for 'Moment of the Year'

Emily Shields
Gun Runner's victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic is among the candidates for the NTRA's "Moment of the Year."

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association has opened voting for the organization’s “Moment of the Year,” a contest it launched in 1999 to commemorate the sport’s most distinctive events of the preceding year.

To vote for the award, click here.

The winner will be announced during the Eclipse Awards ceremony on Jan. 25 at Gulfstream Park in Florida. This year, the ceremony will be hosted for the first time by Nick Luck, the British horseracing analyst and reporter who appears on racing broadcasts on NBC’s networks. Luck will replace the longtime host Jeannine Edwards, the horse enthusiast and ESPN reporter, who last year announced her retirement and is undergoing rotator cuff surgery this month.

The NTRA has selected 13 events for the “Moment of the Year” contest, with votes collected on the organization’s website and tallied by the number of retweets of a list of specific hashtags for each of the events. This is the first year that the contest will use Twitter to collect votes. Twitter votes will be limited to one per account, the NTRA said.

The events include the victories of Gun Runner in the Breeders’ Cup Classic and of Arrogate in the Dubai World Cup, as well as the death of fan-favorite Ben’s Cat, and the tragedy at San Luis Rey Downs, where 46 horses died when a wildfire swept through the training center in early December – and the racing and equine community mobilized quickly to locate missing horses and raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for those displaced.

“The eligible 2017 moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements, as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism,” the NTRA said in a release.

The voting period will last until Jan. 10 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern, the NTRA said.