07/17/2009 12:00AM

Nijinsky Bullet named best in New England


Nijinsky Bullet was named New England Horse of the Year for 2008, topping a career year for her trainer, Rafael Ramos, and owners, Aurora Springs Stable.

The 2007 older female champion in the region, Nijinsky Bullet won four times at Suffolk Downs last year and finished second in the Ladies' Handicap at Aqueduct en route to her winning the older female award, sprinter championship, and James Moseley Horse of the Year award at the New England Turf Writers' Association on Thursday night.

Ramos won the Gerry Sullivan Award as the year's best trainer for the second straight season. His stable was led by both Nijinsky Bullet and Awesome Chic, winner of the 2008 Florida Oaks and ninth in the year's Kentucky Oaks.

Among Nijinsky Bullet's victories was an allowance score against males in which she defeated Hold on Smokey and Southern Rainbow, who both were named divisional champions, Hold on Smokey as 3-year-old and Southern Rainbow as older horse.

Trainer Lorita Lindemann was named the Lou Smith Memorial Award winner for her horse-rescue efforts. Trainer Ned Allard won the Sam McCracken Memorial Award for lifetime achievement.