03/24/2005 12:00AM

New York writers honor '05 best


Ghostzapper, who capped his Eclipse Award-wining season with a victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic, has been named winner of the Secretariat Award as New York's 2004 horse of the year by the New York Turf Writers' Association.

Owned by Stronach Stables and trained by Bobby Frankel, Ghostzapper won the Grade 2 Tom Fool at the Belmont spring meet and also won the Grade 1 Woodward at the Belmont fall meet. He also won the Iselin Handicap at Monmouth in his undefeated four-race campaign.

Others honored by the writers' association were the connections of Smarty Jones, who were given the Alfred G. Vanderbilt Award for the people who did most for racing; Nick Zito, who won the C.V. Whitney Achievement Award; John Velazquez, the Fourstardave Award and the Eddie Arcaro Award; John Servis and John Imbriale, co-winners of the Red Smith "Good Guy" Award; Todd Pletcher, the Woody Stephens Award; Marylou Whitney, the Paul Mellon Award; Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, the Ogden Phipps Award; Sackatoga Stable, the Big Apple Award; and John Hettinger, the President's Award.

The awards will be presented Aug. 22 at the Gideon-Putnam Hotel in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.