Updated on 09/15/2011 12:18PM

New faces in jockey all-star event


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Earlie Fires, Aaron Gryder, David Flores, and Tyler Baze will compete in the National Thoroughbred Racing Association All-Star Jockey Championship for the first time when the four-race competition is run June 22 at Lone Star Park.

They join Pat Day, currently one win away from career victory 8,000, Jerry Bailey, Laffit Pincay Jr., Jorge Chavez, Edgar Prado, Robby Albarado, and Ron Ardoin in the Jockey Championship. A final berth to the competition is reserved for Lone Star's leading rider as of Sunday. As of Tuesday, Corey Lanerie held a 47-33 victory lead over Curt Bourque.

Day and Bailey were elected to compete through a new online fan poll, while the other riders were invited by a panel headed by Bill Shoemaker.

The Championship has raised more than $420,000 for the Jockeys' Guild and its Disabled Riders Fund since it was created in 1997.

* Lone Star handled a record $5,956,064 on its 11-race Lone Star Million Day card Monday and drew a crowd of 19,027. The program featured seven stakes worth a cumulative $1 million, which made for the richest day of racing in Texas.