03/28/2009 11:00PM

Mother Russia, 'Uncle T' take stallion stakes


The end of Aqueduct's winter meet proved to be a great day for Uncle T Seven and Mother Russia to start their 3-year-old campaigns.

With Ramon Dominguez piloting both horses, Uncle T Seven and Mother Russia were dominant winners of their respective divisions of the New York Stallion Stakes on Sunday, the final day of racing this winter over Aqueduct's inner track. Racing moves to the main track beginning Wednesday.

In the $100,000 Times Square Division for 3-year-old colts and geldings, Uncle T Seven ($5.70) chased pacesetting A Flying Jet until midstretch before collaring and passing that rival en route to a 3 1/2-length victory. Empty Wallet rallied from off the pace to get second, 3 1/2 lengths ahead of Katskill Bay.

Uncle T Seven, a son of Freud owned by Thomas Mina and Suzanne Bobley and trained by John Morrison, was making his first start since finishing third in the Bertram Bongard Stakes last Sept. 21. In recording his second win from seven lifetime starts, Uncle T Seven covered six furlongs in 1:12.58 over a sloppy, sealed racetrack.

In the $100,000 Park Avenue Division for 3-year-old fillies, Mother Russia ($3.50) broke a step slow, then rushed up to take command and led her six rivals on a merry chase through the Aqueduct slop before posting a 4 3/4-length victory. Hanna Can Fly rallied to get second by 1 3/4 lengths over Kiss and Fly.

Mother Russia, a daughter of Mayakovsky owned by Obviously NY Stable and trained by Linda Rice, was making her first start since a runner-up finish in the Fifth Avenue Division of the Stallion Stakes last Nov. 9. Mother Russia, who is now 3 for 5, covered six furlongs in 1:13.19.

Those were 2 of 4 victories Dominguez recorded on the day, a fitting conclusion to the inner-track meet. Dominguez set a record for most wins by a jockey during the inner-track season with 124. Chuck Lopez finished second with 61, followed by Rajiv Maragh (59), Eddie Castro (41), and Anna Napravnik (39).

Trainer Gary Contessa led all trainers in wins with 56, followed by Bruce Levine (33), Steve Asmussen (29), Kiaran McLaughlin (25), and Dominic Galluscio (22) and Bruce Brown (22).