12/09/2011 3:47PM

'Moment of the Year' votes being accepted by NTRA


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association has begun accepting votes on its website for the “Moment of the Year” from a list of 12 races run in 2011.

Listed chronologically, the races include: Game On Dude’s controversial win in the Santa Anita Handicap; the victory by Pants on Fire in the Louisiana Derby, which helped Rosie Napravnik win the first-ever rider’s title at Fair Grounds by a woman; the upset of Uncle Mo in the Wood Memorial by Toby’s Corner; Animal Kingdom’s win in the Kentucky Derby; Shackleford’s win in the Preakness; the victory by Blind Luck over Havre de Grace in the Delaware Handicap; a win by Caleb’s Posse in the King’s Bishop Stakes; Havre de Grace’s victory over male horses in the Woodward Stakes; the win by St. Nicholas Abbey in the Breeders’ Cup Turf under 18-year-old rider Joseph O’Brien; the longshot victory by Court Vision in the Breeders’ Cup Mile over Goldikova; Drosselmeyer’s victory in the Breeders’ Cup Classic; and Rapid Redux’s 20th consecutive win.

The NTRA has sponsored the “Moment of the Year” for 13 years. The race that gets the most votes will be revealed at the Eclipse Awards ceremony on Jan. 16 in Beverly Hills, California. Votes will be accepted until midnight on Jan. 3.