09/08/2017 10:18PM

Mohawk: Field set for Maple Leaf Trot

New Image Media
When Resolve and Marion Marauder came up flat, Mambo Lindy took advantage

The Maple Leaf Trot final next Saturday night at Mohawk Racetrack will have two mares in Hannelore Hanover and Pasithea Face S, but no Resolve or Marion Marauder after Hannelore Hanover and Mambo Lindy captured the two C$40,000 eliminations on Friday night at the Campbellville, Ontario, oval.

The second elimination brought all the fireworks as 39-1 shot Windsun Revenge and driver Rick Zeron clicked off fractions of 27 1/5, 55 3/5, and 1:23 3/5, with Crazy Wow (Yannick Gingras) coming first-over out of third at the half.  Resolve (Ake Svanstedt) looked poised to work out a perfect second-over trip, but he was bereft of trot on the far turn and gapped out, allowing Mambo Lindy (Tim Tetrick) to slip into the second-over position behind Crazy Wow and putting Marion Marauder (Scott Zeron) in a terrible spot fourth-over on Resolve's bad cover.

In the stretch Windsun Revenge looked to finish off the work he had done, but Tetrick flipped Mambo Lindy three-deep off the trip, and the 27-1 shot got by Windsun Revenge in the final sixteenth to win by just over a length in 1:52 2/5, a lifetime-best performance.  Windsun Revenge held second, with Gural Hanover (David Miller) up for third.  The last two spots in the final went to Musical Rhythm (Mario Baillargeon) and Warrawee Roo (Sylvain Filion).

As for Resolve and Marion Marauder, they would end up seventh and eighth, respectively, and will not get a chance to compete in next Saturday night's final.

"He's just a really sharp horse, and he thinks he's still King Kong because he's been winning every week at Plainridge (where he has won seven times in ten starts this year)," remarked Tetrick.  "Horses can't read a program.  When I came off Yannick's back there at the top of the lane he gave me a really good step, and from then on it was my job just not to fall off."

Frank Antonacci trains Mambo Lindy, a 6-year-old by Donato Hanover, for owner Greathorse.  This was his 22nd career victory, and he has now earned C$175,260.  He paid $54.50 to win.

Back in the first elimination it was JL Cruze (Miller) fast away from post six to reach the opening quarter in 26 4/5, but Lookslikeachpndale (Dan Dube) advanced up to his outside and took the lead between calls.  Miller was aggressive with JL Cruze, though, moving right back to the outside and re-taking the lead just past the 55 1/5 half-mile marker.  On the final bend Homicide Hunter (Brett Miller) came first-over out of the third position, and he was just a quarter of a length behind JL Cruze at the 1:23 4/5 three-quarters, with Hannelore Hanover (Yannick Gingras), the 4-5 favorite, in a perfect second-over position.

Homicide Hunter would wrestle a narrow lead away from JL Cruze in the lane, but Gingras had the mare Hannelore Hanover three-wide to engage them, and she would overtake both of them inside the final eighth of the mile on her way to a 2 1/4 length score in 1:52 flat.  Homicide Hunter would get second over JL Cruze, with Odds On Amethyst (Pat Hudon) fourth.  The other mare to make the final was Steele Memorial winner Pasithea Face S (Tetrick), who overcame a traffic-troubled journey to get fifth.

"We wanted to take it easy a little bit on her," said Gingras.  "I didn't care which way I was going to race her, but I didn't want to torture her.  She's had many tough trips in a row, but tonight it worked out.  I think she's coming back around, and I thought she was real sharp tonight."

The victorious 5-year-old daughter of Swan For All is trained by Ron Burke for the ownership group of Burke Racing Stable LLC., Weaver Bruscemi LLC., Frank Baldachino, and J And T Silva Stables LLC.  This was Hannelore Hanover's 31st career victory, and she has now earned C$1,838,394.  Hannelore Hanover returned $3.90 to win.

Here is how the field will line up for next Saturday night's C$593,000 final:

1. Windsun Revenge
2. Odds On Amethyst
3. Pasithea Face S
4. Mambo Lindy
5. Hannelore Hanover
6. JL Cruze
7. Warrawee Roo
8. Homicide Hunter
9. Musical Rhythm
10. Gural Hanover
AE: Il Sogno Dream​