06/09/2015 11:46AM

McCarthy, Ness win Pimlico titles

Justin N. Lane
Trevor McCarthy, shown aboard Fish Whistler's victory on May 16, won the Pimlico riding title with 35 wins.

Trevor McCarthy, who missed most of the winter meet at Laurel Park with a broken wrist, won the Pimlico riding title with 35 wins, one more than Victor Carrasco and two more than Jevian Toledo.

McCarthy won the title despite having fewer Pimlico mounts than Carrasco or Toledo, as he has spent most Saturdays and Sundays at Monmouth Park, where he is second in the standings to Paco Lopez with 13 wins.

Jamie Ness won the Pimlico training title with 25 victories, four more than runner-up Kieron Magee. Hamilton Smith was third in the standings with 13 wins.

Ness is tied for second in the Monmouth Park standings with seven wins, two fewer than David Jacobson, who leads the pack.

As of Tuesday morning, Ness also was tied for fourth in the Delaware Park standings with four wins, five fewer than leader Mac Robertson.