06/01/2003 11:00PM

Martin joins jockey all-stars


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - Eddie Martin Jr. earned an invitation to the National Thoroughbred Racing Association All-Star Jockey Championship on June 20 for being the leading rider at the event's host track, Lone Star Park, at the end of Sunday's card there.

Martin won two races on the program to move to a 1-victory lead in the standings over Corey Lanerie, 50 to 49.

Martin will join 12 other riders in the four-race competition, with the final berth into the competition to go to the winner of an online poll at www.ntra.com. The poll will close Saturday.

In addition to Martin, the other riders already set for the competition are Jose Santos, regular rider on Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner Funny Cide, Robby Albarado, Russell Baze, Ryan Fogelsonger, Edgar Prado, Shane Sellers, Mike Smith, Alex Solis, Pat Valenzuela, and John Velazquez.

The choices on the online poll are Javier Castellano, Jorge Chavez, Eibar Coa, Kent Desormeaux, Ramon Dominguez, Rene Douglas, Victor Espinoza, David Flores, Rosemary Homeister, Jr., Richard Migliore, Corey Nakatani, and Cornelio Velasquez.

The event serves as a fund-raiser for the Disabled Jockeys' Endowment.