02/18/2013 10:53AM

Makors Finale named Washington Horse of the Year


Makors Finale was named Horse of the Year at the 2012 Washington Champions Annual Awards banquet held on Saturday by the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association at Emerald Downs in Auburn, Wash.

A Karl C. Krieg homebred trained by Tom Wenzel, Makors Finale won five of eight starts in 2012, including the Emerald Downs Derby, Auburn Handicap, and Coca-Cola Handicap. The 4-year-old colt by Makors Mark out of Coup de Foudre, by Basket Weave, earned $140,370.

Krieg, who with his wife Darlyne lives in Oak Harbor, Wash., was honored as leading owner of Washington-breds by money earned in 2012. Makors Finale was named champion 3-year-old, and his older half-brother, Absolutely Cool, also a Krieg homebred, was named champion older horse. Their dam, Coup de Foudre, was named Broodmare of the Year.

Parker’s Storm Cat repeated as WTBOA’s leading sire of 2012. The Gibson Thoroughbred Farms stallion’s progeny earned more than $1.5 million last year. Rick and Debbie Pabst’s Blue Ribbon Farm repeated as top breeder. Horses they bred earned almost $400,000, led by champion 2-year-old filly Finding More.

Special Achievement Awards went to Lindy Ailment, Tom Wenzel, and Don and Wanda Munger. The Washington Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association’s Willing Hearts Award was presented to former jockey and current trainer Roy Lumm.

Two awards honoring long-term commitment to Washington’s horse industry were presented. The S. J. Agnew Lifetime Special Achievement Award went to Claudia Antwell Canouse, and the WTOBA/WHBPA Special Recognition Award was given to Bob and Barbara Meeking of Allaire Farms.

The annual celebration drew an audience of more than 200 and included a silent auction as well as several raffles for fund-raising.

Washington champions and award winners of 2012:

Horse of the Year, champion 3-year-old, champion 3-year-old colt or gelding: Makors Finale (2009 c., by Makors Mark—Coup de Foudre, by Basket Weave. Owner-breeder, Karl C. Krieg)
Champion older horse: Absolutely Cool (2007 g., by Absolute Harmony—Coup de Foudre, by Basket Weave. Owner-breeder, Karl C. Krieg)
Champion older filly or mare: E Z Kitty (2008 m., by He’s Tops—Envision the Cat, by Lost Code. Owners, Mike Chambers, John Xitco and Dan Agnew/Tige Too Racing Stable; breeders, Jerry and Peggy Woods)
Champion sprinter: Hollywood Harbor (2007 g., by Harbor the Gold—Miss Slewette, by Slewdledo. Owners, One Horse Will Do Corporation and Chris Stenslie; breeder, Bar C Racing Stables)
Champion 3-year-old filly: Quizzical (2009 f., by Cindago—Mahaska, by Just the Time. Owners, Allen and Susan Branch; breeder, Doris Konecny)
Champion 2-year-old, champion 2-year-old colt or gelding: Music of My Soul (2010 c., by Harbor the Gold—Julia Rose, by Basket Weave. Owner, Elttaes Stable; breeder, Bar C Racing Stables)
Champion 2-year-old filly: Finding More (2010 f., by Trickey Trevor—Greenmountain Girl, by Green Dancer. Owner, Dan Kenny; breeders, Frederick and Deborah Pabst)
Leading sire: Parker’s Storm Cat (2000 h., by Storm Cat—Macoumba, by Mr. Prospector. Stands at Gibson Thoroughbred Farm)
Broodmare of the Year: Coup de Foudre (2002 m., by Basket Weave—Lorrains Love, by Sauce Boat. Owner, Karl C. Krieg)
Plater of the Year and Most Improved Plater of the Year: Chukchi Sunrise (Owner, Joseph Morey, Jr. Revocable Trust; breeders, Seawind Stables and Russell Moore)
Leading breeder by Washington-bred money won: Frederick and Deborah Pabst
Leading owner by Washington-bred money won: Karl C. Krieg
Mark Kaufman Media Awards: Jeff Aaron, Mike Gastineau
Special Racetrack Achievement Awards: Lindy Ailment, Don and Wanda Munger, Tom Wenzel
WHBPA Willing Hearts Award: Roy Lumm
WTBOA/WHBPA Special Recognition Award: Bob and Barbara Meeking
S. J. Agnew Special Achievement Award: Claudia Atwell Canouse