05/25/2008 11:00PM

Liepers Fork wins Harrison for third time


Liepers Fork ($6.80) defended his title in the $50,000 William Henry Harrison Stakes with a strong two-length win over former winners Indy Energy and Honor Pursuit on Saturday night at Indiana Downs.

The Harrison was run for the sixth time and the trio represented the entire list of winners in this stakes. Liepers Fork also won the race in 2004 and 2007. Indy Energy won the inaugural running in 2003 and again in 2006 while Honor Pursuit was the 2005 champion.

Liepers Fork rallied from nearly five lengths back in upper stretch and pulled clear in 1:10.39 for the six furlongs overa fast track. Victor Lebron was aboard for trainer Donald Goeing.

With Honor Pursuit finishing a neck behind Indy Energy in third, the trifecta combination of Harrison winners returned a generous $446.80.