11/14/2003 12:00AM

Ky. governor names panel


Paul Patton, the Democratic governor of Kentucky whose eight-year tenure will end Dec. 9 when Ernie Fletcher, a Republican, takes office, has reappointed eight serving members of the Kentucky Racing Commission on Friday. The appointments could, however, be erased when the new administration takes over.

Patton also named three new members, including trainer John T. Ward Jr., to the commission, which consists of 11 voting members and an executive director. The other new members are Mary Glasscock and Pamela Mathis-Yon. Along with Ward, they replace outgoing members Lon Fields, V.L. Fisher, and Nathan Sholar.

Reappointments were for varying lengths and include chairman Frank Shoop and executive director Bernie Hettel. Every current commission member except vice chairman Frank L. Jones Jr., whose term expires in March, were working on expired terms.

Fletcher became the first Republican to be elected governor in 32 years when he handily defeated Democratic opponent Ben Chandler in the Nov. 4 election. Patton served the constitutional limit of two terms and was ineligible for re-election.

After taking office, Fletcher will be empowered to ask for the resignations of current members and appoint his own board.