01/31/2014 11:19AM

Jockey Club Thoroughbred Incentive Program recognizes award winners


The Jockey Club Thoroughbred Incentive Program (T.I.P.) has announced the winners of its 2013 performance awards pilot program.

The T.I.P is designed to encourage the retraining of Thoroughbreds into other disciplines upon the completion of their careers. The program sponsors Thoroughbred classes and high-point awards at sanctioned horse shows. The performance awards recognize Thoroughbreds accumulating the most points at shows in each of the respective award categories and divisions throughout the year.

Category winners (with registered Jockey Club horse names) include: Lemon Twister/Chloe Bellerive (Young Rider); Gateway Wish/Tayler Stewart (Eventing); Genius Gold/Judy Schaefer (Hunter); Zamaroo/Karen Basala (Jumper); and Highland Deed/Morgan McCarthy (Dressage).

For a complete list of category and division winners, click here.

“We had an excellent response to the pilot program,” said Kristin Leshney, legal associate for The Jockey Club and the administrator of T.I.P. “We received 150 applications representing 78 Thoroughbreds, and 25 states and Ontario.”

The performance awards will again be presented for 2014, including shows from Dec. 1, 2013 through Nov. 30, 2014. The deadline for submission of applications is Dec. 20, 2014, at www.tjctip.com.