07/07/2010 11:00PM

Jockey Club of Canada names stewards


ETOBICOKE, Ontario - The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the appointment of stewards and members following its annual meeting last Saturday.

The Jockey Club's board of stewards now comprises Jim Lawson, chief steward; owners Jeff Begg, Dick Bonnycastle, Geordie Hendrie, Ross McKague, Glenn Sikura, Harvey Tenenbaum, Harvey Warner, and Gordon Wilson; and owner/trainer Sue Leslie.

The newly elected members are owners Scott Abbott and John Unger; trainers Sid Attard and Michael Doyle; owner/breeder Bob Anderson; and bloodstock agent Warren Byrne and Richard Hogan.

Stepping down as stewards are owner/breeders Michael Byrne, Bill Graham, and Michael Van Every.

The Jockey Club of Canada, founded in 1973 by the late E.P. Taylor, serves as the international representatives of the Canadian Thoroughbred industry and organizes the annual Sovereign Awards.