06/02/2002 11:00PM

Jockey Championship lineup set


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - John Velazquez and Corey Lanerie locked up the final two berths in the National Thoroughbred All-Star Jockey Championship at Lone Star Park on June 21 over the weekend. Velazquez won an online poll to get into the four-race competition, while Lanerie earned a place by topping the standings at Lone Star at the close of racing Sunday.

The other 10 riders invited to compete last week were: Victor Espinoza, Russell Baze, Edgar Prado, Laffit Pincay, Jorge Chavez, Eddie Delahoussaye, Kent Desormeaux, Chris McCarron, Alex Solis, and Robby Albarado, who could be forced to miss the competition after he fractured a knuckle in a spill at Churchill Downs on Sunday.