01/13/2007 12:00AM

Invasor named N.Y.'s top horse


Invasor, who capped an undefeated North American campaign by winning the Breeders' Cup Classic, heads the list of 2006 award winners announced Saturday by the New York Turf Writers Association.

Invasor's four North American Grade 1 victories in 2006 included scores in the Suburban at Belmont Park and the Whitney Handicap at Saratoga, and thus he was voted the Secretariat Award as New York's horse of the year.

Invasor's trainer, Kiaran McLaughlin, received two honors by the NYTWA. He was voted the C.V. Whitney Achievement Award for winning the Breeders' Cup Classic with Invasor and the Belmont Stakes with Jazil. McLaughlin is also the co-owner of the Red Smith "Good Guy" Award along with trainer Tom Albertrani, who campaigned top 3-year-old Bernardini.

Other award winners included trainer Todd Pletcher (Woody Stephens), jockey Eibar Coa (Eddie Arcaro), Lael Stable (Ogden Phipps/breeder), Darley Stable (Paul Mellon/owner), Julien Leparoux (Fourstardave/achievement at Saratoga), Fleet Indian (Big Apple/New York-bred), and Allen Jerkens (President's Award).

* The NYTWA will hold its 84th annual awards dinner on Aug. 20 at the Gideon-Putnam Hotel in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.