08/02/2001 11:00PM

Holy Bull leads Hall inductees Monday


SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. - Holy Bull, the 1994 Horse of the Year, is among three horses and three people who will be inducted into the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in ceremonies Monday at the Fasig-Tipton sales pavilion. The Hall of Fame itself is located across the street from Saratoga Race Course.

The ceremony, which is free and open to the public, begins at 10:30 a.m. The sportswriter Frank Deford will be the keynote speaker.

Joining Holy Bull as Hall of Fame inductees are the champion mare Paseana, horse of yesteryear Maskette, trainers Richard Mandella and Tom Smith, and jockey Earlie Fires.

Holy Bull won 13 of 16 races for Jimmy Croll, who both owned the trained the gray colt. Holy Bull is now retired and standing at Jonabell Farm in Lexington, Ky.

Paseana was a two-time Eclipse Award winner, in 1992 and 1993, for trainer Ron McAnally and owners Sid and Jenny Craig. She won 19 times in 36 starts.

Maskette won 12 times in 17 starts while racing nearly a century ago. Although national championships were not determined by ballot until 1936, she was considered the best of her generation at age 2 in 1908 and at 3 the following year.

Mandella trained Kotashaan, the 1993 Horse of the Year, and also trained the champion filly Phone Chatter that year. Mandella may be best known for ending Cigar's 16-race winning streak with the longshot Dare and Go in 1996 Pacific Classic.

The late Smith trained, among others, the legendary Seabiscuit. Smith was selected by a historical committee.

Fires, who has ridden for 36 years, has won nearly 6,200 races while based primarily in the Midwest.

A highlight of the day is visits by numerous Hall of Fame members. This year's line-up, according to the Hall of Fame, is scheduled to include jockeys Braulio Baeza, Jerry Bailey, Walter Blum, Pat Day, and Julie Krone, steeplechase riders Dooley Adams, Jerry Fishback, and Mike Smithwick, and trainers Allen Jerkens, P.G. Johnson, Tommy Kelly, Bill Mott, John Nerud, and Scotty Schulhofer.