12/07/2015 1:48PM

Haskin, Burroughs added to Hirsch Media Honor Roll


Turf writer Steve Haskin and the late editor and writer Raleigh Burroughs are latest additions to the Joe Hirsch Media Roll of Honor at the National Racing Museum’s Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday by the museum.

Haskin was a longtime senior correspondent for The Blood-Horse and covered the major events for the magazine, including the Triple Crown and Breeders’ Cup. He stepped down from that position earlier this year, though he still contributes to the publication. Haskin formerly worked at Daily Racing Form for nearly 30 years as copy boy, librarian, and finally national correspondent before going to The Blood-Horse. In 2002, Haskin was named the Walter Haight Award winner by the National Turf Writers Association.

Burroughs, who died in 1998 just three weeks shy of his 97th birthday, was editor of several racing publications, including Turf and Sport Digest and The Maryland Horse. He often wrote for other racing titles as well and had a popular weekly column for The Chronicle of the Horse for nearly 30 years. Burroughs also was named winner of the Haight Award, in 1974.

The Joe Hirsch Media Roll of Honor was established in 2010, honoring the much-decorated Daily Racing Form executive columnist who had died the previous year. The inaugural class included two other esteemed DRF journalists, Charles Hatton and Steven Crist. DRF’s current executive columnist, Jay Hovdey, was inducted in 2012.