02/13/2006 12:00AM

Hall nominees named in new ballot method


The National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame on Monday released a list of horses, trainers, and jockeys it announced as this year's nominees to the Hall of Fame, though the process differed from that of years past.

According to a press release sent out by the Hall of Fame, the 87 horses and people were nominated by "Hall of Fame voters, fans, and people who work in the racing industry." As in the past, the horses and people were nominated by respondents who were restricted to one name in each of the four categories - jockey, trainer, male horse, and female horse. In the past, a 14-member nominating committee vetted the lists for possible oversights, and then whittled the lists down to the finalists, who were released to the public and subsequently sent to approximately 190 voters.

This year, the nominating committee will not vet the lists for oversights. It will narrow down the lists released Monday to three finalists in each of four categories. Last year there were five finalists in each category, and voters could select no more than three of the candidates. This year, voters can select any or all of the finalists.

Only the leading vote-getter in each category can get in, and then only if that person or horse has been named on 75 percent of the ballots cast.

All voters are to receive the finalists in April, results are to be announced in late May, and induction ceremonies are scheduled for Aug. 7 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

This year's list of jockeys is Cash Asmussen, Jorge Chavez, Patti Cooksey, Jean Cruguet, Robbie Davis, David Gall, Carl Gambardella, Mark Guidry, Eddie Maple, Herb McCauley, Craig Perret, Don Pierce, Edgar Prado, Randy Romero, Jose Santos, Larry Snyder, Alex Solis, and Fernando Toro. Among the notable jockeys who are not on the list are Chris Antley and Patrick Valenzuela.

Trainers released on Monday as eligible for the Hall of Fame are Roger Attfield, Dale Baird, Frank Brothers, John Campo, John Gosden, Bruce Headley, David Hofmans, Jerry Hollendorfer, Neil Howard, Gary Jones, Patrick Kelly, King T. Leatherbury, Buster Millerick, Jim Morgan, Gasper Moschera, Carl Nafzger, Willard Proctor, Buddy Raines, John Russell, Doc Schmitt, Mel Stute, Warren Stute, Billy Turner, John Veitch, and Bob Wheeler. Among the notable trainers who are not on the list is Noble Threewitt.

Female runners on the list are Banshee Breeze, Brown Bess, Estrapade, Hollywood Wildcat, Inside Information, Landaluce, Life's Magic, Mom's Command, Nastique, Open Mind, Royal Heroine, Safely Kept, Sharp Cat, Silverbulletday, Sky Beauty, and Soaring Softly. Track Robbery is a notable omission.

The male horses are Artax, Awesome Again, Best Pal, Black Tie Affair, Chief's Crown, Criminal Type, Da Hoss, Dave's Friend, Favorite Trick, Ferdinand, Giant's Causeway, Gulch, Housebuster, Kotashaan, Lemon Drop Kid, Lure, Manila, Paradise Creek, Real Quiet, Silver Charm, Smoke Glacken, Snow Chief, Spend A Buck, Swale, Theatrical, Thunder Gulch, Unbridled, and Victory Gallop. Conquistador Cielo is a notable omission.