09/22/2010 1:41PM

Hall of Fame names four Joe Hirsch honorees


A committee formed by the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame to select individuals for its newly established Joe Hirsch Media Roll of Honor has named four writers for induction, including Steven Crist, the publisher of and a columnist for the Daily Racing Form , the Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday.

In addition to Crist, a former turf writer for the New York Times and the founder of the defunct Racing Times, a competitor to Daily Racing Form , the committee selected Charles Hatton, the late columnist for the Daily Racing Form; William Nack, a longtime writer for Sports Illustrated who is the author of “Secretariat,” one of the best-selling racing books of all-time; and Walter “Red” Smith, one of the most influential sports writers of the 20th century whose work often featured horse racing. Smith was the first sports writer to receive the Pulitzer Prize.

The inductees will be recognized in a ceremony on Oct. 1 at Belmont Park. The Media Roll of Honor is named for Joe Hirsch, the longtime Daily Racing Form columnist who died in 2009.