06/05/2006 11:00PM

Guild elects new senate


Members of the Jockeys' Guild have elected 27 riders to the organization's senate, a body that plans to meet later this month to elect a new board of directors and discuss plans to hire a permanent national director.

Fifty-eight riders competed for the 27 seats, according to the guild. The positions, which have a term of two years, were divided between three geographical regions: Western, Central, and Eastern.

The full senate plans to meet at an undetermined location by the end of July, according to Angie Gimmel, a spokeswoman for the guild. At that meeting, the group will elect nine directors from the ranks of the senate and designate a chairman, vice-chairman, treasurer, and secretary.

The guild's current board members were elected to special temporary terms last November, when the guild approved bylaw changes that enabled the organization to remove its controversial chief executive, L. Wayne Gertmenian, and his management group, Matrix Capital Associates. Also at that time, the guild installed one of its regional managers, Darrell Haire, as its interim national manager.

Haire remains national manager, but Gimmel said that the organization has accepted and reviewed r?sum?s from a number of candidates for a permanent national manager. According to the guild, elected in the Western Region, which encompasses all states west of the Missouri River, were Thoroughbred riders Jon Court, Kent Desormeaux, David Flores, Alex Solis, and Jose Valdivia Jr., as well as Quarter Horse riders Alvin Brossette, G. R. Carter, Cody Jensen, and Sam Thompson. At least three seats in the region were reserved for Quarter Horse riders.

In the Central Region, which includes Minnesota, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Alabama, those elected were Robby Albarado, Perry Compton, Mark Guidry, Jeff Johnston, Jerry LaSala, Randy Meier, Glen Murphy, Brian Peck, and Rodney Prescott.

In the Eastern Region, which includes all other states, the elected senate members were Joe Bravo, Stewart Elliot, Mike Luzzi, Richard Migliore, Mario Pino, Edgar Prado, Mike Smith, John Velazquez, and Jose Velez, Jr.

Velazquez is the current chair of the guild, and he is expected to seek the the chairmanship again at the senate meeting later this month.