05/24/2017 1:00PM

Gaines, Phipps, Winn named Pillars of the Turf


John Gaines, Ogden Mills “Dinny” Phipps, and Matt Winn have been selected for induction into the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in the category of Pillars of the Turf, which recognizes leaders in the racing industry.

The trio will join eight other individuals who have been selected as Pillars of the Turf since the category was inaugurated in 2013. The Hall states that Pillars of the Turf “must be deemed to have represented the sport with indisputable standards of integrity and commitment through disciplines such as breeding and ownership, innovation, philanthropy, promotion, and education.”

All three will be inducted during the Hall of Fame ceremony scheduled for Aug. 4 in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., along with the jockeys Javier Castellano, Victor Espinoza, and Garrett Gomez; trainer Tom Voss; and the racehorses Goldikova and Good Night Shirt.

Gaines, who died in 2005, is widely credited with creating the Breeders’ Cup, which was first held in 1984 and has become one of the most highly anticipated racing events on the calendar. His Gainesway Farm was a major force in the international Thoroughbred breeding industry throughout the latter half of the 20th century, standing many of the breed’s most elite stallions. Gaines sold Gainesway in 1989 but then embarked on a private breeding operation with his son and daughter.

Gaines received the Eclipse Award of Merit in 1984, considered the highest honor in racing. He also received the Duke of Devonshire Award for improving English breeding and racing and the Lord Derby Award for contributions to English racing.

Phipps, who died last year, was one of the most prominent Thoroughbred owners and breeders of the past 50 years. He also was chairman of The Jockey Club for 32 years, the longest-tenured chairman in The Jockey Club’s history, and played a leading if circumspect role in nearly every major racing development of the past several decades. Under his guidance, The Jockey Club transformed itself from a tradition-bound breed registry to one of the most influential organizations in racing, with interests in nearly every facet of the industry.

Phipps, the third generation of his family to play leading roles in the industry, bred 89 stakes winners. He received the Eclipse Award of Merit in 1978 and was awarded The Jockey Club Medal in 2015.

Winn, who died in 1949, purchased Churchill Downs in 1902 and is credited with being the first American racetrack operator to embrace and promote the parimutuel system. He tirelessly marketed Churchill’s signature race, the Kentucky Derby, leading The New York Times to declare at the time of his death that “he alone made it what it is today.”