07/23/2002 11:00PM

Four enter Canterbury Hall of Fame


SHAKOPEE, Minn. - After a one-year hiatus, Canterbury Park's Hall of Fame will add four new members on Saturday. The people to be inducted are Bernell Rhone and Dan Mjolsness, and the equine inductees are Honor the Hero and John Bullit.

Rhone, a trainer, has won races here every season Canterbury has conducted a race meeting since its opening in 1985. Some of his most notable horses were Lady Slipper winner Dot's Moment, Minnesota Derby winner Now Playing, and Northern Lights Futurity winner Tez Tarak.

Mjolsness, past president of both the Minnesota HBPA and Minnesota Thoroughbred Association, co-founded the Minnesota Festival of Champions and is probably best remembered for campaigning Canterbury Hall of Famer Hoist Her Flag.

Honor the Hero, winner of the Phoenix Gold Cup, Churchill Downs Handicap, and Renville County Handicap, raced at Canterbury in 1992 and again in 1995 when the track re-opened under its current ownership. His course record for 7 1/2 furlongs still stands.

John Bullit, a New Zealand-bred, is one of the most popular runners ever to race at Canterbury. A winner of 17 races at this track, John Bullit set several course records during four seasons of racing.

* Jockey Dave Shepherd fractured a vertebrae in his neck in an accident that occurred during training hours last week. He is not expected to ride again this year.